Learn from patients with pain similar to yours

CatchMyPain Community and Pain Diary App to manage chronic illness

Dry Needling

Dec 03, 2016 10:13 AM

My physical therapist and I have been talking about ways to try to get my mom active again. One thing she mentioned was dry needling. Its similar to Accupuncture. They insert the needle into trigger points. I don't know how it works.

For the past two weeks my left side of neck and shoulder area have been so tight it's kept me awake with all the pain. Yesterday at PT she was massaging that area and felt those tight knots in there. She suggested I try the Dry Needling. Needles don't bother me (strangely enough I don't mind them on me but when I was a nurse I hated giving shots to others.. Lol)

Anywho. I was sore for a few hours but once I went to bed - I slept until 9am. This never happens. I am usually up and down all night and any little noise wakes me up. Today I slept through dad getting up for a meeting. Mom getting up and having breakfast and my son getting up and taking a shower. (we share the same bathroom). That area still feels good even after helping son carry a ladder, doing some decorating etc. I wonder if I could just have her do my whole body. Lol.

Dec 03, 2016 1:23 PM

Wow! Want to know more about this!!! Keep posting on how long this works, how often do you it, who does it? 😃Very encouraging!

Dec 03, 2016 3:05 PM

I think I definitely need to look into this it sounds like something that would work wonders!!!

Dec 03, 2016 3:12 PM

Mich - my physical therapist is trained in it but I know my pain clinic also offers it.

Dec 03, 2016 3:12 PM

So far so good Sezzy. Am keeping fingers crossed.

Dec 04, 2016 7:39 PM