Learn from patients with pain similar to yours

CatchMyPain Community and Pain Diary App to manage chronic illness

Newbie here

Oct 28, 2015 7:56 PM

Hi all. I've just been sitting back and observing for a week or two.I'm a little shy. I have no diagnosis yet. I was hoping for one yesterday from the second Rheumi I saw. To say the least he was a total ass. He was so rough on me. He grabbed me and started twisting and turning me. I was wincing in pain and I cried. He totally ignored my reaction and kept going. No apology, kindness, compassion. So arrogant. In short most all my joints hurt bad and my back. Most of this came on so fast over the course of a couple of months. My elbows, one hip, wrists and back being the worst. I'm on a low dose of perocette for the pain or I wouldn't be able to use my arms. I'm ANA positive and mild osteo showed in my hip and back. Other than that all other tests are negative. So after many trips to the family doc, two Rheumies and the pain clinic, I'm no further ahead. I'm on perc. with no answers. I suspect RA it runs in my family as does other autoimmune illnessness but I can't any one to believe me. Have any of you had this battle? Have you tested negative and actually been positive? I'm so at a loss. I've hit a wall. Sorry for the vent. I'm also sorry you're all struggling with so much pain too.

Oct 28, 2015 8:35 PM

So sorry your doc was that rough with you. Also, with diagnoses, there are the ones that have official tests, and ones that are "differential diagnoses" and they basically look at the most likely diagnosis. I have Complex Regional Pain Syndrome (aka CRPS or RSD), a differential diagnosis. Fibromyalgia might soon have a (or so I've heard) actual test, which would be cool. Some docs I've met seem uncomfortable diagnosing diseases like CRPS.

Oct 28, 2015 8:55 PM